The College of Commissioners travels to Sofia today (11 January) for its traditional visit ahead of the incoming Presidency of the Council of the European Union, which will officially start with an opening concert at 19h EET/18h CET.

President Juncker (pictured) will deliver a speech on the occasion, as will Prime Minister of the Republic of Bulgaria Boyko Borissov, President Rumen Radev, Minister in charge of the Bulgarian Presidency Lilyana Pavlova, President of the European Council Donald Tusk and President of the European Parliament Antonio Tajani. You can follow the entire opening ceremony live on EbS+.

The opening ceremony will be followed by an official dinner hosted by Prime Minister Borissov. On Friday 12 January, the College will participate in meetings with the Bulgarian government to discuss the main priorities of the Presidency around the following themes: 1. External relations, security and defence, migration and justice; 2. An inclusive and sustainable Europe closer to the citizens; 3. A competitive, innovative and digital Europe. A plenary session will follow, summing up the results of the cluster meetings.

President Juncker and Prime Minister Borissov will hold a bilateral meeting, followed by a joint press conference at around 12h30 EET/11h30 CET. Also on the agenda of the visit are meetings with the President of the National Assembly Tsveta Karayancheva, and with the President’s Council and the Chairs of Parliamentary Committees of the National Assembly of the Republic of Bulgaria.

Tags: ,

Category: A Frontpage, Bulgaria, EU, EU Presidency, EU Presidency, EU Presidency, European Commission



Source link

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here